Education, HIPAA / HITECH Enforcement, Meaningful Use, News Events

More Than 60% of US Hospitals Ready to Meet Stage 2 Meaningful Use in 2014

According to the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS), analytics is the scientific process of transforming data into insight for making informed decisions. The HIMSS Analytics Report released September 18, 2013 mentioned approximately 68% of hospitals who bought an EHR software through June of this year purchased from a certified vendor who “fit” the 2014 Edition certification criteria.  The report was made possible by the not for profit organization of the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS).

Highlights of the report:

  • At least 60% of hospitals in the sample have met the requirements for at least nine of the core metrics that define Stage 2 Meaningful Use
  • 70 % of respondents across all metrics are actively moving toward , meeting Stage 2 ,Meaningful Use requirements
  • Suggests industry is moving towards Stage 2 Meaningful Use and hospitals will be ready to begin attesting in 2014
  • Research was based on 418 hospitals that provided the data from January- June of 2013

Meaningful Use and Risk Analysis

In order to qualify for Meaningful Use incentives CMS identified a core set of 14 Meaningful Use objectives in which eligible hospitals (EH) and 15 core Meaningful Use objectives in which eligible professionals (EP) need to focus to qualify for incentive funds provided through the new CMS Medicare and Medicaid incentive program. Additionally, EHs and EPs must also focus on five of 10 menu set objectives to quality for incentive funds.

An Eligible Hospital (EP) must attest to all 14 Core Measures of the Meaningful Use Stage 1 requirements in order to qualify for stimulus money. Core Measure #14 requires that organizations complete a series of activities, both initial and follow-on. It is important to note that there is no exclusion from Core Measure #14, that is, it is not an optional or excludable component of the attestation. Eligible professionals (EPs) must attest Yes to having conducted or reviewed a risk analysis in accordance with the requirements under 45 CFR 164.308(a)(1) and implemented security updates as necessary and corrected identified security deficiencies prior to or during the EHR reporting period to meet this measure. It is worth noting that Stage 2’s requirements continue to reinforce the importance of Privacy and Security by requiring encryption. All providers must achieve meaningful use under the Stage 1 criteria before moving to Stage 2.

The area of risk analysis is one that organizations must ensure that they are taking into consideration. Without undergoing this process and then using the outcomes to change use of controls and modifications within policies and procedures, organizations will not qualify for the Meaningful Use incentives​.

Contact RISC Management and Consulting to learn more about our Meaningful Use services and Attestation:

For more details, visit the HIMSS Analytics page and download the entire report:

Click here for the Medicare and Medicaid Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Programs Stage 2 Toolkit:



This is a question that is surprisingly confusing to many people we meet, but especially prevalent among Business Associates focused on data processing.

The two words might sound similar; however they are very different programs. Medicaid is a program governed by the state, and Medicare is a federal-governed program.

Medicaid assists individuals with low income levels such as:

  • Pregnant women
  • Children under the age of 19
  • People 65 and over
  • People who are blind
  • People who are disabled
  • People who need nursing home care
  • Individuals make an application for Medicaid at the State’s Medicaid agency

 Medicare is for:

  • People 65 and over
  • People of any age who have kidney failure or long term kidney disease
  • People who are permanently disabled and cannot work
  • Medicare is applied for at the local Social Security office
  • Some people qualify for both Medicaid and Medicare, Medicaid is sometimes used to help pay for Medicare premiums. People who qualify for both programs are called “dual eligible”.

The Different Parts of Medicare

The different parts of Medicare help cover specific services:

Medicare Part A (Hospital Insurance)

• Helps cover inpatient care in hospitals, skilled nursing facilities (SNF), hospice, and home health care.

• Most people don’t have to pay a premium for Medicare Part A because they or a spouse paid Medicare taxes while working in the United States. If you don’t automatically get premium-free Part A, you may still be able to enroll, and pay a premium.

Medicare Part B (Medical Insurance)

• Helps cover doctors’ and other health care providers’ services, outpatient care, durable medical equipment, and home health care.

• Helps cover some preventive services.

• Most people pay up to the standard monthly Medicare Part B premium.

Note: You may want to get coverage that fills gaps in Original Medicare coverage. You can choose to buy a Medicare Supplement Insurance (Medigap) policy from a private company.

Medicare Part C (also known as Medicare Advantage)

• Offers health plan options run by Medicare-approved private insurance companies

Medicare Advantage Plans are a way to get the benefits and services covered under Part A and Part B

Most Medicare Advantage Plans cover Medicare prescription drug coverage (Part D)

• Some Medicare Advantage Plans may include extra benefits for an extra cost

Medicare Part D (Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage)

• Helps cover the cost of prescription drugs

• May help lower your prescription drug costs and help protect against higher costs

• Run by Medicare-approved private insurance companies

• Costs and benefits vary by plan

For more information, visit , or call 1-800-MEDICARE

Sponsored by: RISC Management,